Red Lipstick And Instagram

20140601-234922-85762345.jpg
Medieval and other lipsticks from Lipstick Queen

I was so busy patting myself on the back for having discovered Lipstick Queen lipsticks (By discovered, I mean reading about them in Jean Godfrey June’s Beauty Closet column in Lucky magazine a few years back. Her column has actually become so popular that she’s now also the face of an extensive style and beauty Q & A in the mag every month. Not too shabby.) and posting ad nauseam on Facebook that I missed out on something pretty big makeup and social media wise.

Allow me to explain.

With the help of one of my nieces (Hi Nicole!), the same one who had set up my FB account years earlier, I had started an Instagram account last summer, posted maybe twice and quickly abandoned it.

At that time, little did I know there were people on there scooping up followers, posting about all the lipstick – and other makeup – they buy and most importantly, getting tons of FREE makeup as a result.

While we’re on the subject of lipstick, have to say I’m still po’ed about the tube of Lipstick Queen Medieval , best described as a super flattering and moisturizing red tint, I LOST last fall. Unlike most of the others reds I’d bought and ended up stashing in the makeup drawer in my bathroom (I’m talking to you Nars Cruella and Damned!) because they were much too bold, this one is probably the most subtle shade and wearable consistency of any red I’ve come across – If it were a celebrity, it would be Jennifer Aniston, not Angelina Jolie. Cate Blanchett, not Pam Anderson. Sadly, it can’t be gotten locally, so guess I’ve no choice, but to go online and order a new NOT FREE tube at some point.

So, no one told me all of this was happening on Instagram.
Meanwhile here I was spending at least $100 every trip to Sephora without posting a darn thing about it. And I do challenge any makeup or skin care obsessed person to leave a Sephora without spending $100 or more. It’s simply too easy to do. I mean you get as much or as little help as you want (As I’ve said before, I prefer LESS help in stores these days.) and you get to touch all the bottles, boxes, tubes and testers. No glass cases or counters between you and all those glorious products, including the lipstick. Hooray!

The good news in all this? I am back on Instagram and while I have nothing in the way of free makeup, Emily Weiss (founder and creative director of one of most influential beauty blogs, Into The Gloss) did recently “like” one of my makeup pix.

Hey, it’s a start.

Follow me on Instagram @PattyJeffrey223.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Red Lipstick And Instagram

  1. T K Park says:

    Have you checked Ulta? The warwick store has a whole Lipstick Queen section. I was thrilled to find it a while back as I usually go to Barney’s for my LQ.

  2. Nancy J Lacey says:

    Hi Patricia! I was talking with Denise at The Limited today and she told me about your fab blog ! Anyway, I am a major Lipstick Queen fanatic! Ulta in Warwick ( only this store) carries the line. I road tripped last week and spent alof of $$$ on my favorite product ever! Good luck with this! It looks great!

Leave a comment